Court Seal

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
District of Utah
Honorable Ted Stewart, Chief Judge   |   D. Mark Jones, Clerk
 

MEMBERSHIP IN THE COURT'S BAR: FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Who may become a member of the Bar of the District Court?

Any attorney who is an active member in good standing of the Bar of the State of Utah may apply to become a member of the Bar of the District Court.

Was I automatically admitted to the Court's Bar if I attended the annual spring or fall joint admission ceremony for the Utah Supreme Court and the U.S. District Court?

It depends on whether you became an active member of the Utah State Bar. Only attorneys who become active members of the Utah State Bar at the time they are admitted and who pay the $176.00 federal court bar admission fee are named in the Utah State Bar's motion for admission to both courts and administered the oath of admission for this Court's Bar at the joint admission ceremonies. If you paid the inactive fees to the Utah State Bar at the time of the joint admission ceremony, you were not admitted to the Bar of the U.S. District Court. Once you become an active member of the Utah State Bar, you may apply to become a member of this Court's Bar by following the Court's attorney admissions procedures.

Top of Page

What procedures do I need to follow to be sworn in as a member of the Bar of the District Court for the District of Utah if I was unable to attend the annual spring or fall joint admission ceremony for the Utah Supreme Court and the U.S. District Court?

See attorney admissions. If you paid the active fees to the Utah State Bar, your name was placed on a motion for admission to the Court's Bar. Therefore, you do not need to obtain a sponsor provided that you are admitted to the Court's Bar within a year from the date of the joint admission ceremony. If you paid the inactive fees to the Utah State Bar, you do need to obtain a sponsor.

May I take the oath of admissions for the Bar of the U.S. District Court before an out-of-state federal judge?

Yes. You may take the oath of admission before any federal trial or appellate court judge if you follow the procedures described under attorney admissions for nonresident applicants. The oath must be administered by a federal trial or appellate court judge, not a magistrate judge.

Is there an admission fee to become a member of the District Court's Bar?

Yes. You must pay $176.00 at the time of your admission to the Bar of this Court.

Top of Page

How can I get a new Attorney Admission Certificate if I've lost my original certificate?

The Clerk's Office will replace your Attorney Admission Certificate for a $18 fee. To request a new certificate, contact:


Office of the Clerk
U.S. District Court
351 S. West Temple, Rm. 1.100
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Telephone: 801-524-6100.

You will need to provide the Clerk's Office with the spelling of your name, your bar number, the date of your admission to the Bar of this Court, and a check or credit card number to cover the fee.

How do I request a Certificate of Good Standing from the Court?

Requests for Certificates of Good Standing for a member of the Court's Bar should be made to:


Office of the Clerk
U.S. District Court
351 S. West Temple, Rm. 1.100
Salt Lake City, Utah 84101
Telephone: 801-524-6100

The fee is $18. To qualify for a certificate of good standing, an attorney must be an active member of the Court's Bar.

Top of Page

What is the CJA Panel?

The Criminal Justice Act ("CJA") Panel is a group of qualified and court-approved attorneys who are eligible for appointment by the Court to represent individuals in criminal cases who are unable for financial reasons to retain counsel. The appointments are made by the Court on a rotating basis among members of the panel. Consideration is given to the nature of the case and the relative experience of the panel members before appointments are made; there are three categories of appointment:

  • Misdemeanor
  • Generic Felony
  • Major Felony

Compensation for work performed as a CJA Panel member is provided by the government following review and approval of expense vouchers submitted to and approved by the Court. Hourly compensation rates and limitations are posted on this web site. Appointment to the panel requires the approval of the Court. Applications submitted by May 31 and November 30 of each year are reviewed in June and Decembber, respectively. Prospective panelists must be active members in good standing of the Court's Bar and should review the CJA Panel Rules and Criteria. More information is at http://www.utd.uscourts.gov/documents/cjapage.html. To apply to become a member of the CJA Panel, complete and submit an Application for CJA Panel Membership to:


Office of the Chief Magistrate Judge
CJA Panel Applications
483 United States Courthouse
351 S. West Temple
Salt Lake City, Utah 84101

Top of Page

Does the Court charge an annual attorney registration fee?

Yes. The Court charges active members of its Bar an annual registration fee of $15. The Court's registration fee must be submitted with a completed attorney registration form to the Clerk's Office. The fee is not included in the annual dues for the Utah State Bar. The fee is due July 1.

Who must submit an attorney registration form to the Clerk of the Court each year?

All members of the Bar of this Court must submit an attorney registration form along with $15 to the Clerk of Court by July 1st of each year unless they are inactive members of the Bar who wish to remain inactive. If you wish to become inactive, you need to inform the Court. Failure to pay the annual fee places the attorney in "Suspended for Fees" status.

Who is exempt from the registration fee?

Judges who are barred from the practice of law do not have to pay the registration fee although they must submit a completed attorney registration form to maintain their active membership status. Attorneys on inactive status are also exempt from the annual attorney registration fee. Attorneys who are employed by the U.S. Government are not exempt and must pay the registration fee.

How does an inactive member of the District Court's Bar become an active member?

To change your membership status from inactive to active, you need to complete an attorney registration form and submit it to the Clerk of Court along with the $15 registration fee.

Top of Page

If I change my mailing address or e-mail address, do I need to notify the Court?

Yes. All members of the Court's Bar, whether active or inactive, and all pro hac vice attorneys must notify the Court within twenty-four (24) hours if their address changes.
You should also inform the Court if one of your secondary CM/ECF email addresses needs to be changed.

Notifying the Utah State Bar of your address change will not notify this Court of your new address.

To notify the Court of an address change, complete the Notice of Change of Address form and submit it to:


Attorney Database Administrator
U.S. District Court
351 S. West Temple, Rm. 1.100
Salt Lake City, Utah 84101

How do I get my name placed on or taken off of the docket sheet as an attorney of record?

An attorney is placed on the docket sheet as an attorney of record when the attorney enters an appearance on behalf of a party by filing a pleading in the case or when the attorney files a Notice of Appearance of Counsel with the Court. To have your name removed from the docket sheet as an attorney of record, your withdrawal as attorney of record must be approved by the court. The withdrawing attorney should submit to the Court a motion and a proposed order to withdraw or substitute counsel. See DUCivR 83-1.4.

If more than one attorney from my firm has entered an appearance for a client on a case, who will receive notices from the court?

All registered efilers will receive notices from the court. Official court notices will be sent to non-efilers only if there is no efiling attorney representing that party in the same firm. Notices to an efiling attorney is notice to non-efilng attorneys in the same firm. Note that the court requires efiling.

How can I sign up to receive copies of notices, orders and judgments from the Court by e-mail?

To receive copies of notices, orders and judgments electronically, you must register for E-Filing. To register for E-Filing, you should complete, sign, and submit an Electronic Case Filing Registration Form to:

United States Courthouse
Attn: CM/ECF Registration
351 S. West Temple, Rm. 1.100
Salt Lake City, Utah 84101
Top of Page