Court Seal

District of Utah
Honorable David Nuffer, Chief Judge   |   D. Mark Jones, Clerk

District of Utah

Brief History

On July 16, 1894, the U.S. Congress organized Utah as one judicial district and authorized one judgeship for the U.S. District Court. The U.S. District Court for the District of Utah was assigned to the Eighth Circuit. On February 28, 1929, Congress assigned the District of Utah to the newly-organized Tenth Circuit.

In 1954, a temporary judgeship was added to Utah, and this position became permanent in 1961. In 1978, 1984, and 1990, additional judgeships were added for the District, totaling 5 authorized judgeships.

John Augustine Marshall, grand-nephew of Chief Justice John Curtis Marshall (1801- 1835), was the first U.S. District Court Judge in Utah. Tillman Davis Johnson succeeded Judge Marshall, with a tenure of 38 years on the bench in Utah. Judges Ritter, Christensen, and Anderson followed.

The U.S. District Court for the District of Utah is currently housed in the Frank E. Moss U.S. Courthouse, named for Senator Frank Edward Moss who served as Utah representative in the U.S. Senate for 18 years from 1959 to 1976.

Construction on the new courthouse adjacent to the Frank Moss Courthouse began in 2011, and is scheduled to be completed in 2014.

Judge Paul G. Cassell was the fourteenth U.S. District Court Judge for the District of Utah, upon
his swearing in on July 2, 2002, and he resigned from his judgeship in October of 2007.

Judge David K. Winder served on the District of Utah bench from 1979 through 2009. Judge J. Thomas Greene retired from service in 2011. Magistrate Judge Sam Alba retired from service in 2012. Also, in 2012, Magistrate Judge David Nuffer was confirmed and appointed as District Judge.

Seated currently on the bench in the District of Utah at this writing (January 2013) are: Chief Judge Ted Stewart, Judge Dee Benson, Judge Clark Waddoups, Judge David Nuffer, and Judge Robert J. Shelby. Senior Judges are Senior Judge Bruce Jenkins, Senior Judge David Sam, Senior Judge Dale Kimball, and Senior Judge Tena Campbell.

Also serving the District of Utah are Chief Magistrate Judge Brooke Wells, Magistrate Judge Paul Warner, Magistrate Judge Evelyn J. Furse, Magistrate Judge Dustin Pead, and Magistrate Judge Robert Braithwaite.

Biographical information on each judge is available at