UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF UTAH
Office of the Clerk of Court

District Court Fee Schedule

Effective 1 June 2004

The Clerk of the District of Utah charges the following fees for services. Fees are charged
for services rendered for the United States only for records searches, photocopies, and
electronic access to case information databases. No fees under this schedule are charged to
federal agencies funded from judiciary appropriations.

FILING FEES
$150 Civil case filing fee
$39 For filing or indexing any paper not in a case or proceeding for which a case

filing fee has been paid (miscellaneous case) (Fee applies to (i) filing of petition to
perpetuate testimony, Fed. Rule of Civil Procedure 27(a), (ii) filing of papers by trustees
under 28 U.S.C. § 754, (iii) filing of letters rogatory or letters of request, and (iv) registering
of a judgment from another district pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1963)

$5,431 Actions brought under Title I1I of the Cuban Liberty and Democratic Solidarity

(LIBERTAD) Act of 1996, P.L. 104-114, 110 Stat. § 785 (1996) (This fee is in
addition to the filing fee prescribed in 28 U.S.C. 1914(a) for instituting any civil action
other than a writ of habeas corpus)

NOTICES OF APPEAL
$255 To the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals
$32 To the District Court from a Magistrate Judge misdemeanor conviction

RECORDS SEARCH

$26 Per name or item searched. (This fee shall apply to services rendered on behalf of the
U.S. if the information requested is available through electronic access)

CERTIFICATION AND EXEMPLIFICATION

$9 Certification (Fee applies whether the certification is made directly on the document or
by separate instrument)
$9 Transcript of Judgment
$9 Certificate of Judgment for Registration in Another District
$18 Exemplification and Certification




PHOTOCOPIES

$.50 Per page. (Fee applies to copies of (i) original documents, (ii) microfiche/microfilm
reproductions of original records. This fee shall apply to services rendered on behalf of the
United States if the record or paper is available through electronic access)

$.10 Per page printed from public access terminals.
MICROFICHE/MICROFILM
$5 Per microfiche film sheet or microfilm jacket copy of court records, if available.

MAGNETIC TAPE RECORDINGS
$26 Per recording, either reel to reel or cassette, including the cost of the materials.

ARCHIVED CASE FILE RETRIEVAL
$45 Per shipment. (For retrieval of a record from a Federal Records Center, National
Archives, or other storage location removed from the place of business of the court)

RETURNED CHECKS
$45 Checks made payable to the court that are returned for lack of funds

ATTORNEY ADMISSION
$150  Admission to practice in the District of Utah
$15 Pro Hac Vice Admission
$15 Annual Court Bar Registration
$15 Duplicate certificate of admission or certificate of good standing

DISTRICT COURT RULES OF PRACTICE
$15 Tabbed looseleaf edition
$5 Tabbed paperbound edition

REGISTRY FUND ACCOUNTS
Handling fee of ten (10) percent of interest earned for registry fund accounts
that, pursuant to court order, are deposited by the court into interest-bearing

accounts. (Fee assessed from interest earnings in accordance with fee schedule issued by
the Director, Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts)

ELECTRONIC ACCESS TO CASE INFORMATION DATABASES
$.07 Per page charge for viewing case information on this system. (Use of WebPACER
requires users to register with the Clerk. Fees are invoiced quarterly. Fee applies to all
users -- private/public/state/federal, except as noted in the introductory paragraph. The
court, for good cause, may exempt persons or classes of persons from these fees, in order
to avoid unreasonable burdens and to promote public access to such information.)




