
THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 

DISTRICT OF UTAH  

IN THE MATTER OF APPROVAL OF 
REVISIONS TO US DEPARTMENT OF 
VETERANS AFFAIRS COLLATERAL 
FORFEITURE SCHEDULE AND 2023
UNIFORM FINE/BAIL SCHEDULE IN 
THE DISTRICT OF UTAH 

GENERAL ORDER 23-002 

ORDER 

Upon motion of the United States and for good cause appearing, Attachment A, 

to wit: Department of Veterans Affairs Police Revised Collateral Forfeiture Schedule, is 

hereby adopted with immediate effect.  The 2023 schedule reflects the state codes, title 

of offenses, and collateral amounts to be enforced by U.S. Department of Veterans 

Affairs Police without the concurrence of the U.S. Attorney’s Office, which were 

traditionally referenced from the Utah Uniform Fine/Bail Schedule and will hereafter be 

applied pursuant to 18 U.S.C. § 13, also known as the Assimilative Crimes Act. All other 

state crimes not listed shall be deferred to the US Attorney’s Office for concurrence 

before enforcement under the Assimilative Crimes Act. 
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The United States shall immediately make known the Court’s Order to the U.S. 

Department of Veterans Affairs and all other law enforcement agencies within the 

District of Utah.  

SO ORDERED this 13th day of January, 2023. 

BY THE COURT: 

_____________________________________ 
ROBERT J. SHELBY 
CHIEF UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE 
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ATTACHMENT A: Department of Veterans Affairs Police Revised Collateral Forfeiture 

Schedule 

DRIVER'S LICENSE 

53-3-202 No valid Driver's License $40 

53-3-208 Violating Driver's License Restrictions $40 
53-3-213 No valid bus or commercial class license $75 

53-3-217(a) Driving without Driver's License in driver's possession. $40 
53-3-217(b) Failure to display Driver's License to Police Officer. $40 

53-3-227(1) Driving with REVOKED/SUSPENDED Driver's License $300 

53-3-229-(1)(g) Altered, Fictitious, or using another person's Driver's License MCA 

EQUIPMENT & SAFETY VIOLATIONS 
41-1a-201 No Valid Registration/EXPIRED Registration $40 

41-1a-404 Failure to display plates/plate not visible $40 

41-12a-302
Driving without valid/expired vehicle insurance/false insurance 
(IAW 41-12a-303.2) 

$400 

41-12a-303.2 Failure to provide proof of insurance. $100 

41-1a-1303.5 No Utah registration (new UTAH resident) $40 

41-6a-1505
Operating Motorcycle without Protective Headgear (under 21 
yrs age) 

$65 

41-6a-1803(1)(a)i Failure to wear Seatbelt $25 

41-6a-1803(1)(a)ii Failure to wear or provide child restrain device $25 

76-10-2202 Leaving Child in a motor vehicle $150 

41-6a-1716 Cell Phone/Texting while Driving $150 

41-6a-1603 Failure to display/illuminate headlamps/taillamps $30 



4 

VEHICLE COLLISIONS 

41-6a-401(2) Failure to remain at the scene of the accident (damage only) MCA 

41-6a-401.3(2) Failure to remain at the scene of the accident (injury) MCA 

41-6a-401.3(2) Failure to exchange information (IAW 41.6a-401.7) MCA 

41-6a-401.7(4) Failure to notify driver (unattended vehicle collision) MCA 

MOVING VIOLATIONS 

41-6a-502 Driving under the influence of alcohol/drugs MCA 

41-6a-526(2) Drinking alcoholic beverage in vehicle $100 

41-6a-526(3) Open alcoholic container in vehicle $100 

41-6a-701 Driving on the wrong side of the roadway $70 

41-6a-710(1) Failure to stay in one lane $70 

41-6a-804(1) Failure to signal $70 

41-6a-901 Failure to yield to the right-of-way of vehicles (uncontrolled intersection) $70 

41-6a-904(1) Failure to yield to Emergency/Police vehicle $150 

41-6a-1701
Improper backing (I.e. to be done safely and not on shoulder of 
highway) 

$60 

41-6a-1704 Prohibited opening of vehicle door $25 

CRIMES AGAINST PROPERTY 

76-6-107 Graffiti $300 

76-6-206 Criminal Trespass $350 

76-6-404.5 Wrongful Appropriation $200 

76-6-106 Criminal Mischief MCA 

76-6-602 Retail Theft MCA 

76-6-409 Theft of Services $350 

76-6-409.3 Theft of Utility/Cable Television Services $350 
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CRIMES AGAINST PEACE/MORALITY 

 

76-9-701 Intoxication - Alcohol or drugs $50 

76-5-102.9 Propelling a Bodily Substance at a person $250 

76-5-106.5(2) Stalking $300 

76-5-106 Harassment $300 

76-5-107(1)a Threat of Violence - serious bodily harm/death/destruction of property MCA 

76-5-107(1)b Threat of Violence - Accompanied by a show of force MCA 

76-8-304(1)c Disruption of an official meeting MCA 

76-9-702(1) Lewdness MCA 

76-9-201.1 Sexual Battery MCA 

79-9-702.3 Public Urination $60 

76-9-101(2) Riot - Refusing to comply with lawful order $500 

76-9-104 Failure to Disperse $300 

76-9-301(2) Cruelty to Animals $300 

76-9-306 Police Service Animals - Causing Injury or interfering with handler. MCA 

76-9-307 Causing Injury to service animal $300 

76-9-201(2) Electronic Communication Harassment MCA 

76-10-508 Discharging a firearm $250 

 

CRIMES AGAINST GOVERNMENT 

 

76-8-503 Making False Statement $250 

76-8-504 Written False Statement MCA 

76-8-511 Falsifying/Concealing/Destroying Government Records $250 

26-8a-502(6) Summon an Emergency Response When not Needed $300 

 

FRAUD & MEDICAL 

 

26-20-7 False Claims for Medical Benefits MCA 

76-6-506.2(5) Fraudulent Transaction MCA 

76-6-506.2(5)a Counterfeit/Fictitious MCA 

76-6-521(1)d Fraudulent/False Scheme to obtain fees and services MCA 

58-17b-501 Unlawful Conduct (Prescription Drug Violations - See Below) MCA 

(6) Procuring/Attempting to Procure MCA 

(7) Possession for "unlawful" purpose MCA 

(10) "Dispensing" a prescription drug to someone w/o prescription MCA 

(12) Selling/Dispensing/trafficking prescription drugs MCA 

(13) Using prescription drug when not prescribed MCA 


