ST. GEORGE TRIALS INFORMATION SHEET

WELCOME- Welcome to jury service for the United States District Court for the District of Utah. Jury service is an obligation of every citizen. The right to trial by a jury of our peers is guaranteed to each of us by the United States Constitution. This pamphlet is intended to answer practical questions regarding your service. We look forward to welcoming you at the Court and appreciate your willingness to serve.

FACILITIES- St. George Trials - The Federal Court leases space from the State of Utah in the Fifth District Court in Washington County. The address to the Fifth District Court is: 206 W Tabernacle Street, St. George UT 84770. Please enter through the front doors, once inside the building, proceed to the Jury Assembly Hall, located on the third floor, Room 3113. **Parking is located on the West side of the building.**

BUILDING SECURITY- The Courthouse is a secure building, with airport style screening, food and drinks are not permitted. Also, it is against the law to bring any type of weapon on the property. This includes guns, knives, and OC/pepper spray. Please leave these items at home.

JURORS FEES- An attendance fee of \$50 per day is paid for each day you report for jury duty, unless you are a federal employee. You will also be reimbursed for your round-trip mileage at the current government rate. **Please make note of your round-trip mileage, as you will need to report it when you check in.**

If you live over 80 miles, one way, from the St. George Courthouse you may want to arrive a day before you are scheduled to report. Your meal and hotel costs will be reimbursed at the current daily government rate, plus the \$50 jury duty allowance. You must submit a receipt from your hotel to be reimbursed for your lodging costs; if you stay with a friend or relative, your daily reimbursement will be to cover your meals and incidentals only. Please refer to the Traveler Information Insert for current rates.

Juror compensation checks will be mailed to you within twenty days of your appearance date. The daily attendance fee of \$50 is taxable income by the Internal Revenue Service and should be reported on your tax return next year (in most instances a form 1099 will not be provided).

REPORTING FOR DUTY- You have been sent a Notice to Appear instructing you to report on a certain day, and time. It is important that you report on time. Jury selection can take up to five hours. If you are not selected to serve for this trial, you will be permitted to leave after the selection process. If selected, you may be required to remain at the courthouse for the remainder of the day, and you will need to return each day until the trial is finished. Most trials last from three to five days.

If you have immediate questions or concerns regarding your Notice to Appear you should contact the Jury Administrator at 801-524-6285 as soon as possible.

CALL BEFORE YOU REPORT! - You have received a Notice to Appear for jury duty you must call local 801-524-6940 any time after 10:00 a.m. on the last business day before you are to report for last-minute instructions. The recorded message will be available after 10:00 a.m., including evening hours, and on weekends. Cases that are set for trial frequently settle or are re-scheduled on very short notice. This frequently happens after the Notice to Appear has been mailed. If you neglect to call and then appear for jury duty for a trial that has been rescheduled, the Court cannot reimburse you for mileage or other costs. Therefore, it is very important that you call before leaving your residence.

LENGTH OF SERVICE- Your term of service is an "on-call" term of two (2) months. This does not mean that you will be reporting every day for two months. However, you may be called at any time during that period. If you report for jury duty and are not selected, you will probably receive another notice to appear later during your two-month term. The next notice may be for a trial in Salt Lake City.

FAILURE TO REPORT- Jurors who fail to report for jury service may be served with an Order to Show Cause by the United States Marshal's Service. Penalties for contempt of the Jury Selection Act range from a \$1000 fine and/or three days imprisonment.

ATTENDANCE CERTIFICATES- The Court will provide you with a certificate showing the dates and times you served if you request one.

DRESS CODE- Please dress appropriately for court, you are not allowed to wear shorts or tank tops in the courthouse. The temperature can be quite cool in the courtroom, so dress accordingly.

PROTECTION OF YOUR EMPLOYMENT- Federal law specifically prohibits employers from taking any adverse action against employees because they are called to jury service by the United States. Section 1875 of Title 28 of the United States Code begins as follows:

- a. No employer shall discharge, threaten to discharge, intimidate, or coerce any permanent employee by reason of such employees' jury service, or the attendance of scheduled attendance in connection with such service, in any court of the United States.
- b. Any employer who violated the provisions of this section -
 - 1. shall be liable for damages for any loss of wages or benefits suffered by an employee by reason of such violation;
 - 2. may be enjoined from further violations of this section and ordered to provide other appropriate relief, including reinstatement of any employee discharged by reason of his jury service; and
 - 3. shall be subject to a civil penalty of not more than \$1,000 for each violation as to each employee.

If you have reason to believe that your employment status has changed because of your being called to serve as a juror in federal court, please notify the jury administrator.