Rules of Practice for the U.S. District Court for the District of Utah
The local rules of practice for the District of Utah are available for a free download on the court's website. Additional paper copies are available from the Clerk’s Office for a $15 fee. Notices of amendments to the rules, including the public comment period, will be sent to all members of the court’s bar and posted on the court’s website.
Certificates of Good Standing for the Bar of the U.S. District Court for the District of Utah
|Certificates of Good Standing are available through the District Court CM/ECF E-filing website. The United States District Court for the District of Utah interprets "good standing" as an attorney who has fulfilled all requirements to be a member of the bar (DUCivR 83-1.1) and has no current disciplinary actions recorded. Additionally, the attorney is current with all dues required by the court. Attorneys requesting a certificate, attesting to their status, are required to pay an $19 fee.
To request a Certificate of Good Standing:
The Clerk's Office will:
CM/ECF is an Internet-based document filing system which allows attorneys to electronically file motions and pleadings with the Court. These filings are immediately placed on the court's official docket sheet and the system immediately sends all parties and the judge e-mail a notice of filing of all papers, including notices, minute entries and orders.
Additional information regarding CM/ECF can be found on the court's CMECF - Electronic Case Filing page.
The District of Utah provides electronic access to case information on all civil cases filed with the Court since July 1989 and all criminal cases filed with the court since November 1992. The only exceptions are cases that have been sealed by order of a judge and social security cases. This service is available to anyone who has access to a computer and the internet from virtually any location. This electronic access system permits users to search for a case by entering the case name or number. Users can review the case docket and any case document that is attached to a docket entry.
Users also can download and print out any accessible case docket and/or documents for a modest fee. That fee is $.10 per page, not to exceed $3.00 per docket or document. Thus, if a user downloads and prints a 45 page document, the cost is $3.00. Each registered user will receive a quarterly billing statement from the PACER Service Center.
Access to this electronic case information system is available 24 hours per day, seven days a week.
Persons who wish to utilize this service must first register through the PACER Service Center. You may register online at http://www.pacer.uscourts.gov/register.html.
For information about the PACER Service Center click here http://www.pacer.uscourts.gov or call this toll-free number: (800) 676-6856.. There is no cost to register for this service.
If you already are a registered user, click here to log on to the system.
Wireless Internet Access at the Courthouse
The Public wireless network is now available to Attorney's on the second floor near the law library and fourth floor near the ADR room. Access instructions, rules of use, and the access password are available in the law library on the second floor. Wireless access is available during regular business hours.