You are here
Frequently Asked Questions
What is a Docket? How do I obtain copies of a Docket?
Dockets are a "snapshot" of the case file. The docket lists each party, and the attorneys of record. A brief summary of each document is listed, along with the date it was filed and the court record number assigned to the document.
To obtain a copy of the docket sheet, please submit a Copywork Request Form to the Clerk's office indicating the case name and case number of the docket sheet you would like a copy of. Cost is $.50 per page. Dockets may be remotely accessed by use of the PACER system.
How do I obtain a copy of a transcript?
Please visit the court's Court Reporters/Transcripts webpage for information about how to request a transcript.
How do I obtain a copy of an Opinion (also known as a Memorandum Decision)?
Memorandum Decisions may be downloaded from PACER at no charge. They can be found under Reports > Written Opinions Report. There is no charge for downloading opinions from PACER.
Also, copies of opinions or other documents in a case may be obtained at the Clerk's Office and are $.50 per page and payment is requested in advance. To obtain copies, please submit a Copywork Request Form to the Clerk's office indicating the case number, case name and the court record number.
For additional options and complete information, visit the How to Obtain Copies of Court Documents page. If you need further assistance, please call the Intake Office at (801) 524-6100.
What are the current witness fees?
Witness fees are currently $40.00 per day and $ 0.56 per mile (round-trip) (As of 01/01/2021)
How do I amend a Scheduling Order?
How do I submit (or file) my Attorney Planning Meeting Report and Scheduling Order?
How do you serve subpoenas for a deposition or for documents in another state when the case is pending here?
Attorneys who are practicing before this court are empowered by Rule 45 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure to issue subpoenas for depositions or documents in any other federal court district. The standard subpoena form should be used and will contain the Utah heading and case number. The attorney will serve the necessary notices when issuing a subpoena.
When the return of service is made, the attorney holds the return. It is not filed in the Utah file.
If further proceedings, such as a notice of appeal, a motion to compel or motion to quash are filed, the attorney must open a miscellaneous case in the other district in order to litigate the validity of the subpoena.
Who issues subpoenas in a civil case?
Attorneys may issue subpoenas in civil cases. The clerk may issue subpoenas for non attorney pro se litigants.
Who issues summons in a civil case?
The court issues a summons in a civil case. For additional information about a summons, please visit the Initiating a New Civil Case webpage.
What is the procedure for filing disclosures?
Disclosures under the recent amendments to the Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 26(a), are treated as other discovery documents such as answers to interrogatories, requests for admissions, requests for production of documents, depositions or notices of taking depositions required by Fed R. Civ. P. 30(b)(1), and certificates of service for any of the discovery materials are NOT filed with the court. Please refer to DUCivR 26-1. Expert Witness Reports, however, are filed. Proposed Witness Lists and Exhibit Lists are also filed.