You are here

Court News & Announcements

Check this page, or the News and Announcements box on the homepage, for the latest official news and announcements released by the court. You can also access archived news and announcements from this page.

Fri, 01/11/2019

The Salt Lake City Magistrate Judge Merit Selection Panel has submitted the names of the following individuals to the United States District Judges for their consideration for appointment as a magistrate judge in Salt Lake City. Comments will be...

Tue, 01/08/2019

During the government shut-down:

  • Criminal and civil cases (and documents within those cases) may still be filed;
  • Most criminal court hearings and trials will proceed as scheduled. You will be notified by the court if your...
Tue, 01/08/2019

The Office of the Clerk of Court will be closed on Monday, January 21, 2019 for Martin Luther King Jr. Day. The office will reopen for business on Tuesday, January 22, 2019 at 8:30 a.m.

The twenty-four hour outdoor filing box is available...

Tue, 12/11/2018
Fri, 11/30/2018

The United States District Court for the District of Utah has approved amendments to its local rules of practice, effective December 1, 2018.  The rules will be available on the court’s website.  Paper copies will be...

Tue, 11/27/2018

The Office of the Clerk of Court will be closed Monday & Tuesday, December 24 & 25, 2018.
The office will reopen for business on Wednesday, December 26, 2018 at 8:30 a.m.

The Office of the Clerk of Court will be closed Monday...

Fri, 10/19/2018

Having considered the recent public comments regarding DUCrimR 12-1(h) (Motions Under the Speedy Trial Act), the Committee of the Local Rules of Practice has proposed additional changes to the rule. The proposed amendment may be found below....

Fri, 09/28/2018

As of Monday, October 1, 2018 the court will no longer use the ipt@utd.uscourts.gov email address to receive proposed Scheduling Orders. Instead, counsel should email all proposed Scheduling Orders to the assigned judge in each case. If an Order...

Tue, 09/18/2018

Proposed Amendments to the Local Rules of Practice;
Public Comment Opportunity 2018

The Committee of the Local Rules of Practice has proposed changes to the local rules of the district court. The...

Fri, 08/10/2018

Applications for the U-ACT Program will be accepted on a continual basis.  Applications received by the last Monday of each month ordinarily will be screened on the first Monday of the following month.  Counsel will be notified of a decision...

Pages